Music Department

Faculty

The Hillsdale College Music Department has over 30 faculty members, including nine full-time positions and over 20 part-time instructors ranging from double bass to flute to harp. 

Our faculty includes well-established and active performers, teachers, published scholars, commissioned composers, and church musicians. They present recitals and lectures, play with local and national ensembles and orchestras (including the Detroit Opera, Windsor Symphony, Jackson Symphony, Kalamazoo Symphony, and Toledo Symphony, to name a few) as well as lead our own College Orchestra and other departmental ensembles.

James A. Holleman
Department Chair, Professor of Music - Conducting
Email: jholleman@hillsdale.edu
Phone: 517-607-2363

Music History, Theory, & Composition

Renée Clark
Assistant Professor of Music - Music History
Email: rclark@hillsdale.edu
Phone: 517-607-2366

Mathew Fuerst
Assistant Professor of Music - Theory/Composition
Email: mfuerst@hillsdale.edu
Phone: 517-607-2285

Keyboard

Brad Blackham
Director of Keyboard Studies, Teacher of Music - Piano
Email: bblackham@hillsdale.edu
Phone: 517-607-2546

Dean James
Adjunct Instructor - Organ
Email: djames@hillsdale.edu
Phone: 517-607-2288

Rebecca Mayer
Adjunct Instructor - Piano
Email: rmayer@hillsdale.edu
Phone: 517-607-2288

Linda Smith
Adjunct Instructor - Piano
Email: lsmith1@hillsdale.edu
Phone: 517-607-2288

Douglas Spangler
Adjunct Instructor - Piano
Email: dspangler@hillsdale.edu
Phone: 517-607-3168

Debra Wyse
Artist/Teacher of Music - Piano, Choir Accompanist
Email: dwyse@hillsdale.edu
Phone: 517-607-2364

Jonathan Chesson
Instructor - Piano, Music Department Accompanist
Email: jchesson@hillsdale.edu
Phone: 517-607-2590

Percussion

Stacey Jones
Music Admissions Coordinator, Artist/Teacher of Music - Percussion
Email: sjones@hillsdale.edu
Phone: 517-607-2288

Strings

Melissa Knecht
Director of String Studies, Professor of Music - Violin & Viola
Email: mknecht@hillsdale.edu
Phone: 517-607-2365

Dana Duncan
Adjunct Instructor - Violin
Email: dduncan@hillsdale.edu
Phone: 517-607-2671

Amy Ley
Adjunct Instructor - Harp
Email: aley@hillsdale.edu
Phone: 517-607-2288

David Peshlakai
Adjunct Instructor - Cello
Email: dpeshlakai@hillsdale.edu
Phone: 517-607-2288

Aaron Johnson
Adjunct Instructor - Bass
Email: ajohnson2@hillsdale.edu
Phone: 517-607-2288

Larry Williams
Adjunct Instructor - Guitar
Email: lwilliams@hillsdale.edu
Phone: 517-607-2289

Daniel Palmer
Adjunct Instructor - Guitar
Email: dpalmer@hillsdale.edu
Phone: 517-607-2288

Woodwind and Brass

Robert Livingston
Director of Hillsdale Community Wind Symphony, Adjunct Instructor
Email: rlivingston@hillsdale.edu
Phone: 517-607-2288

Cindy DudaPant
Adjunct Instructor - Bassoon
Email: cdudapant@hillsdale.edu
Phone: 517-607-2288

Jonathon Gewirtz
Adjunct Instructor - Saxophone
Email: jgewirtz@hillsdale.edu
Phone: 517-607-2288

Daniel Harris
Adjunct Instructor - Trombone & Bass Trombone
Email: dharris1@hillsdale.edu
Phone: 517-607-2288

Christopher C. McCourry
Director of Jazz Studies, Artist/Teacher of Music - Trumpet
Email: cmccourry@hillsdale.edu
Phone: 517-607-3327

Kaycee Ware-Thomas
Adjunct Instructor - Oboe
Email: kthomas@hillsdale.edu
Phone: 517-607-2288

Andrew Sprung
Adjunct Instructor - Clarinet
Email: asprung@hillsdale.edu
Phone: 517-607-2288

Alan Taplin
Adjunct Instructor - Horn
Email: ataplin@hillsdale.edu
Phone: 517-607-2288

Jaimie Wagner
Adjunct Instructor - Flute

Randy Westmoreland
Adjunct Instructor - Tuba
Email: rwestmoreland@hillsdale.edu
Phone: 517-607-2288

Voice

Cynthian Brundage
Adjunct Instructor - Voice
Email: 
Phone:

Kristen Matson
Adjunct Instructor - Voice
Email: kmatson@hillsdale.edu
Phone: 517-607-2288

Melissa Osmond
Director of Voice Studies, Teacher of Music - Voice 
Email: mosmond@hillsdale.edu
Phone: 517-607-2286

Karl Schmidt
Adjunct Instructor - Voice
Email: kschmidt@hillsdale.edu
Phone: 517-607-2288

Jazz

Christopher C. McCourry
Director of Jazz Studies, Artist/Teacher of Music - Trumpet              
Email: cmccourry@hillsdale.edu
Phone:517-607-3327

Jonathon Gewirtz
Adjunct Instructor - Saxophone
Email: jgewirtz@hillsdale.edu
Phone: 517-607-2288

James Ball
Adjunct Instructor - Bass            
Email: jball@hillsdale.edu

Arlene McDaniel
Adjunct Instructor - Piano           
Email: amcdaniel@hillsdale.edu

Larry Ochiltree
Adjunct Instructor - Drum Set           
Email: lochiltree@hillsdale.edu
Phone: 517-607-2288

Sonny Wilkinson
Adjunct Instructor - Voice