Social Sciences

American Conservatism

Politics 404

This course will explore the nature and origin of American conservatism through a careful study of its principal thinkers and writers. Possible authors include, among others, Richard Weaver, Eric Voegelin, Leo Strauss, Harvey Mansfield Jr., Harry Jaffa, Russell Kirk, Irving Kristol, Robert Nisbet and F.A. Hayek. Special attention will be given to the conservative movement after 1945.